Christopher Okigbo

The Africans, A Radio Play in Three Acts – 09-11 February 2022

We were proud to present the worldwide premiere of The Africans, A Radio Play in Three Acts by Christian Nyampeta – live on PASS from 09­-11 February 2022.

The Africans, A Radio Play in Three Acts, is an adaptation of The Trial of Christopher Okigbo (1971), a novel by the late Kenyan philosopher and writer Ali A. Mazrui (1933-2014). With it, Christian Nyampeta develops what he calls a “multiform audio-social structure”, portraying a battle between individualism, universalism and social collectivism in After Africa.

For further reading on the production of the play:

Programming consisted of one act per day, preceded by an interview with the writer and director, Christian Nyampeta.

Listen to the interview, and all three acts, below:

[Artwork: landscapes of my childhood remembered by Obi Okigbo]


Based on The Trial of Christopher Okigbo, a novel by Ali Mazrui

Written and directed by: Christian Nyampeta

Voiced by: Phindile Dube, Prince Joshua Botongore, Moya Michael, Otobong Nkanga, Obi Okigbo and Mohamed Toukabri

Original musical compositions by: Julien Simbi

Produced by: Sofia Dati and Helena Kritis
Recording by: Johan Vandermaelen
Interns: Nathan Ishar and Sophia Attigui

Writing advisors: Shariffa Ali, Hannah Black, Rahima Gambo, Emmanuel Iduma, and Andros Zins-Browne

Additional sources include More Brilliant than the Sun: Adventures in Sonic Fiction by Kodwo Eshun, and Women and the Nigeria-Biafra War: Reframing Gender and Conflict in Africa, edited by Gloria Chuku and Sussie U. Aham-Okoro

Commissioned by Ntone Edjabe at Chimurenga / Pan African Space Station.

Co-commissioned by WIELS Centre for Contemporary Art in the frame of the exhibition “Risquons-Tout”, curated by Dirk Snauwaert, Zoë Gray, Devrim Bayar, Helena Kritis and Sofia Dati in 2020

With the special support of the Flemish Government, Mondriaan Fonds, Africalia and The Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

With thanks to: Lisa Akinyi May, Mai Abu ELDahab, Laïla Bouquet, Eric Cyuzuzo, Benoit De Wael, Mariama Errami, Elisabeth Severino Fernandes, Mwanza Goutier, Zen Jefferson, Emma Kamau, Lissa Kinnaer, Nicole Bongo Letuppe, Adams Mensah, Fleur Pozzi, Kristin Rogghe, Anjalika Sagar, Oussama Tabti, Cees Vossen, Mary Wang and Xiaoyu Weng.

Category: News, Pass Blog, Pass Radio | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment